Team Cooking

Joel and Bob will be coming over for dinner on Saturday.  Dad raved about my cooking last Tuesday when he saw Joel at my mom’s tennis match, and since we are a group of winos, my culinary interest seems the perfect excuse to pair up some liquor with some food and have a dandy time 🙂  Although the event is quite informal and more a reason for giggles than anything else, I still feel compelled to produce “wows” with whatever team “Kitchen and Koko” come up with.  So tonight I did a test run of some Chicken Tetrazzini.  It happens to be one of my favorite Italian dishes, and I didn’t want the first time I made it to be a public flop.  Tomis was an excellent hubby and jumped in the kitchen with me, chopping and stirring whatever I put in front of him.  It was a lot of fun… ESPECIALLY since the recipe calls for a 1/2 cup of dry white wine.  Well, opening an entire bottle for just a bit of wine seems like a waste, so Tomis and I felt it our obligation to polish off the bottle before the meal was complete 🙂  Oh boy… let me tell you, if you want to have an outstanding time wth your husband, find any task that involves even the smallest bit of concentration and add a bottle of wine.  I personally guarantee a good time. 

The meal came out as I would expect any meal to come out the first time making it… good, but lacking a thing or three.  But that was the purpose of cooking it tonight afterall, so that I would know the chicken should be pounded thin for more even cooking and more flavor, and that only half the noodles the recipe called for were needed.  Saturday it should produce full tummies and happy faces.  Tomorrow I will experiment with vanilla sweet cream filled crepes with chocolate ganache for dessert.  I’m sure it will take a few times to get it right, but since I have my trusted taste-tester in el hubbo over here, all should be well. 

Well, although my last glass of wine was easily three hours ago, I am fairly tipsy still.  The best thing for me to do now is grab Tomis and get a good hair petting to put me to sleep.  I may have to bribe him with beer and chocolate tomorrow… but hey, a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do.

This entry was posted in David & Lucille, Food or Recipes, Joel & Bob. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

