$28,000/year, no benefits, 4-year degree

HA!

The title says it all. I went to my interview today… and there is an opening for a “entry-level” data entry position for $28,000 a year (I can buy a pack of gum in Euros 😉 ). Thank god I didn’t know this was in the cards while I was pulling all-nighters, studying for exams, and writing 30 pages papers in college. I spent more money at Starbuck during my college career than I will earn my first year of employment… actually, considering my “first” job (insurance agent) I spent hundreds of dollars on licensing and marketing, it may take TWO years to earn that money back. As sobering as this all sounds, it isn’t. Although it may sound as though my optimism is slipping away, rest assured, it is in tact. It isn’t exactly funny, but in the future these lessons will be appreciated. As far as I am concerned, I am engaged in a giant game of hide-and-seek in the job market, and I am the seeker. If my childhood memory serves me right, the seeker always gets their turn. So I’ll just wait, and read my giant stack of books!

As for my wonderful husband, he finally got eBay to work for him. He got a great deal on a set of golf clubs and is waiting for them to show up in the mail. I can’t wait to see what his nights of cursing at the computer turn up 🙂

“We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars” ~Unknown

This entry was posted in Just Us. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to $28,000/year, no benefits, 4-year degree

  1. ornella says:

    Hej ,ne mogu bas skuziti o cemu se radi ovo u vezi golfa jer jr prijevod dosta los,a na engleski ne kzim bas sve ??? Koko,ne gubi faith…in the and everything will be ok….

Leave a Reply

