California Dreaming

I love love LOVE the sun. Every time I feel it on my face I want to smell coconut like I did in California. I love the smell of sunscreen, and I love the smell of the beach. I miss it from time to time. I miss the people, I miss my friends, and I miss the food! I am not being fair to Portland though. I haven’t gone out in the city to really experience it. I keep getting told about all the little places you can go in the nooks and crannies of the city to get an authentic Portland experience… but honestly, in my heart I know it isn’t California. In California there are ten “Portlands” within 20 minutes of each other, some bordering the beach and some on the way to the mountains. And despite what people say about Californians, I think they are some of the most accommodating people (once they are out of their cars and not on the freeway haha).

Tomis shares some of the same feelings I do about living here.  We think about our other options often.  I think we will always hold Oregon in a special place in our minds for what it has done for us, but I think we prefer it in our minds rather than under our feet. 

Despite all that, it IS a beautiful day today.  Spring is on the way and the trees are getting reay to put their best leaves on.   There are hints of spring all around… petals forming and bird chirping.  The ducks are back and walking around in pairs.  I can hear our neighbors music because it is warm enough to open their windows and breath fresh air.  The drone of our heater has been replaced by the sound of airplanes flying overhead 🙂  There is a lot to smile about today and a lot more to smile about in the future 🙂 🙂 🙂

This entry was posted in Just Us. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to California Dreaming

  1. ornella says:

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY MISS AND MR. PAPEC !!!!!!!!!!!
    WE LOVE YOU !!!!!!!!!!!!
    Zlatko,Stefica,Antonella,Robi and Ornella !!!

Leave a Reply

