Salty Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Okay, so first off I am still sick. I think being pregnant makes it extraordinarily difficult to kick seasonal bugs out of the system. Usually something like this only takes me a day or two to beat, but I actually feel about as bad as I did on day one. My doctor wrote a note excusing me from work for today and tomorrow but I will be damned if I miss another day this week. I have a little list of meds that should scoot recovery along, so fingers crossed I don’t feel like an invalid tomorrow. Tomorrow, I work.

Anyway, the cookies I made yesterday held to today very well. Throughout the day I had about 8 of them, and today I had one for breakfast. The oatmeal adds a little fiber to the diet. I am proud to say that I crafted the recipe myself. Where it is far from a masterpiece, it is definitely a mama-made cookie, and hopefully when Nuggy is born it will be on his/her request list ๐Ÿ™‚

Salty Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:
1 C flour
1 1/4 C rolled oats (oatmeal. just not the quick cooking style)
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
3/4 C salted butter (let sit until room temp)
1 C light brown sugar (packed, but not too firmly)
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 large egg
1 large box of instant vanilla pudding
1 C chocolate chips (I used semisweet, but may try dark, toffee, or peanut butter in the future)

* Preheat oven to 350.
* Mix flour, salt, oats, baking powder, baking soda
* In another bowl mix butter and brown sugar with electric beater. Beat until nice and fluffy ๐Ÿ™‚ add vanilla, egg, and pudding, and beat until well mixed. Gradually add flour and oat mix with mixer on low until mixed.
* Fold in chocolate chips
* Using a tablespoon, use well rounded scoops onto a cookie sheet. Bake between 8-12 minutes. Once cookies and golden brown and puffed up they are done. YUM!

Welcome to my cookie jar…
Photobucket

This entry was posted in Food or Recipes, Posts with Pics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

