Sleep when the baby sleeps…

Sleep when the baby sleeps.” I don’t know why that concept is so difficult for me. During the day, regardless of the number of hours I have slept, I am full of energy in the morning and early afternoon. In the late afternoon I start to run low on energy and in the evening I am ready to die. I know the easy fix is to “sleep when the baby sleeps” but I just can’t break the “awake during the day” pattern. I was able to nap during the day pre-Nug, but those “naps” were 3-4 hours at a time and were deep sleeps. Nug needs me awake every third hour, and at least one of the hours between those segments Nug needs me alert for him to be changed, fed, and cuddled back to sleep. After that I need to wash his bottles and my pumping equipment for his next session… not to mention pump for 15 minutes. If I have to feed myself, go to the bathroom, let the dog out, pay a bill, do laundry, take a shower, head to a doctor appointment, etc, then my two hours of potential zzzZZZzzz’s go bye-bye. Don’t get me wrong, it is strangely enjoyable and entirely gratifying, but God help me I understand why they say it takes a village. Well, I guess moms’ are just that… a village of one (and a half when daddy gets home).

I have the most profound respect for my mom as I write this. I feel compelled to put out there how sacred of a task mothering is and that respect should be paid to any person who has successfully raised a child. The task of 70 hours of work put into 24 hour days is rewarded by small smiles and gurgles made by a creature that hasn’t even learned to love you back. I think moms transcend humanity in a way– how else do they care for a pooping, peeing, crying, wrinkled lizard at the expense of their own basic human needs and vanity! So to my mom, Stefica, Great Grandma Betty, Ornella, and all the other moms out there… god bless you and everything you do. I will follow in your footsteps and make sure that my beautiful baby has a mom worthy of her title.

This entry was posted in Just Us. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sleep when the baby sleeps…

  1. Hi,hi…I understanding,very good,what you mean with that “sleeping” when baby sleep…it is not possible…maybe once a week…again,thx for yours amazing words on this blog…I love you…really do…

Leave a Reply

