Bye Bye soggy kangaroo

So, Tomis decided it was high time I started to act and look like a woman again. I had taken the mommy business too seriously and started to take for granted that, yes, I am still a young-ish woman. Without even looking up from the nursing bras hanging on the laundry basket in our room, he said to me, “woman, we need to get you real bras. You look silly wearing those grandma things.” So, off to the mall we went. I had my wet hair pinned to the top of my head and a baby hanging like a tiny kangaroo from my front while Tomis perused the aisles of Victorias Secret and selected me appropriately fitting woman things. While I am sure the impetus for the shopping adventure was my husband’s need for me to stop wearing his clothes (and remnants from what looked like the Goodwills senior section) and start to resemble my gender again, he is wonderful nonetheless. I don’t think the message set in right away though. When we got to the check-out, I asked the lady, “Do you want to see the most beautiful thing in the world???” and promptly turned my baby around to show him off. Any time I caught someone staring at him I would say, “I know, he is adorable.” What a vain and annoying mom I am πŸ™‚ Anyway, after we left Victorias Secret I started to look around the mall… man, I was a mess. The ladies walking around had taken time to be presentable, and there I was a soggy kangaroo. Once we got home I but on my properly fitting presents, busted out the flat iron, applied some eyeliner, and now I feel like a woman again.

I don’t think I will ever forget the image of my husband sorting through bras with such concentration and then standing in a line of 20 surrounded by women and pink lights as I tried on lip gloss a few feet away with Ryker strapped to my chest. He didn’t bat an eye. What a wonderful wonderful man.

As you may have guessed from the lag time in posts, Tomis and I have been busy busy parents. Sometimes we are in bed at 7pm. If we aren’t we are trading off a bundle of adorableness so the other can eat and get ready for bed. Right now we are sitting on the floor of the living room surrounded by baby toys. Ryker is taking his VERY FIRST snooze in his crib. Our hope is that he will sleep longer than three hours at a time in there. Perhaps then Tomis and I will get some extra rest, and maybe the blog will see more action. Nevertheless, my ears are GLUED to the baby monitor right now and I am contemplating sleeping in the hall outside the baby’s door. I am not a fan of having Ryker any place other than right beside me, but I know it is the right thing to do. It just sucks. I miss him dearly, and it had been 32 minutes only. So the busy-bee parents haven’t had a chance to take many pics this week, but today I did catch a few of my cutie pie sleeping πŸ™‚ So here is your weekly bug fix (hopefully to be a daily fix once more)

Photobucket
This makes me think of a baby volcano

Photobucket
He always falls asleep best when he is in a pillow cave

Photobucket
But, sometimes he likes his space πŸ™‚ I am so sad that he isn’t cuddled next to me in bed right now 😦 I know it sounds silly, but I am truly upset right now. Even though Ryker is more than content to be in his crib without Tomis and I there, his mama is the one being the baby.

Alright. Time to suck it up and make my wonderful hub a sandwich. Talk at you all soon! Much love!

This entry was posted in Just Us and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

